NEN Awards 2009

NEN Awards 2009

On November 18th, over 450 neighborhood leaders and host, KFOG’s Peter Finch, came together to celebrate the amazing community-building work happening across San Francisco. Mayor Gavin Newsom; Board of Supervisor President David Chiu; Supervisors John Avalos, Ross Mirkarimi, and Sophie Maxwell; and City Administrator Ed Lee joined the winners and their supporters. In addition, honorees received commendations from House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, State Senator Mark Leno, and State Assemblypersons Tom Ammiano and Fiona Ma.


The NEN Awards 2009 winners were:


Best Community Building Event
Jerry Day
The Pink Triangle

Best Community Challenge Grant Project(s)
Lower 24th Street Merchants Association
The Lower Haight Merchant & Neighborhood Association

Best Green Community Project
Clementina Cares Neighborhood Greening Initiative

Best Graffiti Watch Volunteer
Moffitt Street Neighborhood Watch group

Best Prepared Neighborhood Watch Group
Joe Porcoro and The North West Bernal Alliance

Comeback Neighborhood of the Year
The Middle Polk Neighborhood

Best Neighborhood Organization Website
North of Panhandle Neighborhood Association

Best Merchant Association
Divisadero Merchants’ Association
Bayview Merchants’ Association

2009 NEN Lifetime Achievement Award: Gerry Crowley

Hall of Fame: Elbert “Bud” Wilson, Friedel Klussmann, Minnie and Lovie Ward, and Patricia Walkup